The Music of Robert Rich

imageartist_robertrich_1One of my very favorite artists in any genre is Robert Rich.  Not only is he one of the superlative ambient composers and performers of all time; he is also one of the creators and definers of the very genre I love so much.  Only a master of a genre actually influences the genre itself, and Robert Rich is one of those masters.

On my Blue Water Drift Dive program this week, I’ll be doing a deep dive into Robert’s music, exploring the extremely diverse landscape of sounds that he has created, from light ambient to analog electronica to dark tone poems to abstract ambience and back again.  We have a lot of ground to cover …

Also, I’ll be performing a live ambient train wreck that represents Robert’s influence upon me.  I won’t measure up to Robert, but I’ll do my very best.

I hope to see you there!  The show starts Friday November 10th at 7 PM Pacific Standard Time / 10 PM Eastern Standard Time (which is 3 AM UTC on November 11th).  If you tune in, be sure to stop by the chat room and say hello … we’d all love to see you.

Listen at https://www.radiospiral.net/listen

Join us in chat: https://mrspiral.slack.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s